Sunday, September 10, 2017

Spring wheat

Wheat is not native to the US and was first grown here in 1602 near Massachusetts coast. The common types of wheat grown in the US are spring and winter wheat.

The genetic difference between spring and winter type wheat is relatively minor. Spring type is usually completely dominant, with the spring-winter growth habit controlled by one, two or three genes.
In North Dakota and northern South Dakota, the main varieties are termed spring wheat; they are planted in the spring and harvested in the fall. Spring wheat will not survive the winter if planted in fall.

Spring wheat is more suited to a northern environment, because the crop is in the ground only during the warm season, it takes advantages of the long summer days of northern latitudes to produce a maximum growth in a short time.
Spring wheat

The most popular articles